Winnipeg Institute
for Theoretical Physics



The WITP was formed in 1990 to support the activities of the significant and growing community of theoretical physicists in the province of Manitoba; it was officially recognized by the University of Manitoba and the University of Winnipeg as a joint institute in the 1993-94 academic year. As of early 2014, the WITP has 24 faculty members, including senior scholars, drawn from Brandon University, the University of Manitoba, and the University of Winnipeg, as well as a number of associate and student members. The WITP carries out its mandate to support theoretical physics research by encouraging collaboration between members of the Institute and by financially supporting workshops, visiting colloquium speakers, and short and long term visits by research collaborators of international standing.

The Institute is located in the physics departments of the Universities of Manitoba and Winnipeg but has no independent physical facilities. All the administrative work of the Institute is done on a volunteer basis by members with support by the administrative staff of the two departments. In addition, the physics departments of the two Universities regularly provide office space for visitors.

Funding for the WITP is provided by the University of Manitoba, the University of Winnipeg, and Brandon University. The WITP's activities are further supported by the grants of individual members.

Reports and Reviews

The WITP reports annually to the Deans of Science and research administrations of its three sponsoring universities. In addition, it is reviewed periodically by the University of Manitoba Senate for renewal as an institute. These reports and reviews can be found here.